Mercedes-Benz JuniorCup January 5 & 6, 2018

Hertha BSC

The capital club is third in the all-time ranking list of the Junior Cup with two tournament victories, right behind Schalke 04 and VfB Stuttgart. Now, after a seven-year break, the Berlin team comes back to the Glaspalast for the tenth time.

Jérôme and Kevin-Prince Boateng, Ashkan Dejagah and most recently John Anthony Brooks are the figureheads of the Hertha youth players. There are presently six players who belong to the Bundesliga squad, which are homegrown players: Torunarigha, Mittelstädt, Maier, Kade, Dárdai and Baak. Three of those players (Kade, Dárdai and Baak) are eligible and registered to compete in Sindelfingen. Luis Klatte, Jessic Ngankam and Dennis Jastrzembski, who also play in Sindelfingen, were present at the U17 World Cup in India.

With Ante Čović, Andreas Thom, Andreas (Zecke) Neuendorf, Sofian Chahed, and the U19 coach Michael Hartmann (240 Bundesliga games for Hertha), the trainers coached the most important U-teams, by which they identified to the club during their active career for the Hertha team. With nine participations, the team won in 2003 and 2004 and ranked third in 2011.


Group A

Trainer: Michael Hartmann

Goalkeeper Coach: Ilja Hofstädt

Physiotherapist: Jürgen Lange

Team Leader: Norbert Machnik



Player number Name First name Date of Birth
1 Smarsch Dennis  14.01.1999
6 Storm Maximilian 21.01.1999
7 Dárdai Pal  24.04.1999
9 Ngankam Jessic  20.07.2000
10 Maier Arne 08.01.1999
11 Zografakis Nikos  07.07.1999
17 Ernesto Panzu de Angelo 03.04.1999
24 Kastrati Mateo  17.08.2000
27 Gurschke Maximilian 03.01.2000
29 Jastrzembski Dennis  20.02.2000
30 Kade Julius 20.05.1999


Hertha BSC at the JuniorCup:

Nine participations: champion 2003 und 2004, third place 2011


Youth Players of Hertha:

Jerôme and Kevin-Prince Boateng | Ashkan Dejagah | Nico Schulz | John Anthony Brooks

Tournament schedule Herta BSC
Time Opponent
12:01 pm -
12:20 pm
   Víkingur Reykjavík
1:32 pm -
1:52 pm
   VfB Stuttgart
3:04 pm -
3:24 pm
   Grasshopper Club Zürich
5:01 pm -
5:20 pm
   Panathinaikos Athen
Time Opponent
11:50 am -
12:10 pm
   TSG 1899 Hoffenheim
2:01 pm -
2:20 pm
   FC Bayern München
4:00 pm -
4:20 pm
   TSG 1899 Hoffenheim