Mercedes-Benz JuniorCup January 5 & 6, 2018

27th Mercedes-Benz Junior Cup: Support for the world champions

There are eight junior cup participants with the national team / the tournament will take place from 6 - 7 January 2017 / advance ticket sales have begun.

The World Cup 2018 will take place in Russia. The German Soccer Association continues to lead with maximum points throughout the qualifications. Eight professional players belong to the current squad of the world champions. They will be competing against Italy on Tuesday, which have previously participated at the Glaspalast in Sindelfingen for the Mercedes-Benz Junior Cup.

Joshua Kimmich is the 28th former Junior Cup participant that has made the leap into the German national soccer team. In 2013, he became the best player in the tournament. Joshua Kimmch has nine international caps and is an integral part of FC Bayern München.  Leroy Sané has had an exceptional career. In 2014, he participated at the Glaspalast. Now he plays for Manchester City and has successfully completed four international caps.

There are 8 former Junior Cup participants from which the German National coach, Joachim Löw can substitute: Mesut Özil, Manuel Neuer, Mario Gomez, Sami Khedira, Benedikt Höwedes, Sebastian Rudy, Joshua Kimmich and Leroy Sané.  Among the foreign teams, it’s Marcus Rashford that’s causing a sensation. In 2015, he played in Sindelfingen, now he is already a player for the English national team.

The event dates for the 27th tournament are set. The games will take place on the 6th and 7th of January 2017, which will be a meeting of the champions. Leicester City, the English titleholder, and Rosenborg Trondheim (Norway) will be participating at this year’s tournament in Sindelfingen for the first time. The U19 national team from South Korea will compete as well as the current defending champions Rapid Wien. They will meet against strong players from the best German junior clubs currently participating in the tournament: Schalke 04, RB Leipzig (first tournament), and 1899 Hoffenheim; and like VfB Stuttgart, they want to win the title for the Bundesliga. The public draw will take place on November 28th. For the first time, ticket holders will be entitled travel by public transportation and a shuttle bus will depart from the Maichingen train station. Tickets are now available for sale at all Easy Ticket Service ( and at Breitmeyer Citysoccer in Stuttgart.

German national players that previously participated at the Mercedes-Benz Junior Cup are as followed:

Mesut Özil (83 international games), Manuel Neuer (74), Sami Khedira (69), Mario Gomez (69), Kevin Kuranyi (52), Benedikt Höwedes (42), Tim Borowski (33), Carsten Jancker (33), Simon Rolfes (26), Andreas Hinkel (21), Marcel Schmelzer (16), Lars Ricken (16), David Odonkor (16), Max Kruse (14), Serdar Tasci (14), Alexander Zickler (12), Christoph Kramer (12), Sebastian Rudy (11), Joshua Kimmich (9), Timo Hildebrand (7), Christian Gentner (5), Benjamin Lauth (5), Christian Schulz (4), Leroy Sané , Aaron Hunt (3), Marvin Compper (1), Marco Reich (1), Tobias Weis (1).   

Go back